Chart Feed – 08.03.10.

Rihanna‘s petulant ‘Rude Boy’ has taken #1 position in Australia, making it her first #1 single here since ‘Don’t Stop The Music’ three years ago.

It’s hardly in the league of her previous chart toppers like, ‘SOS (Rescue Me)’ and ‘Umbrella’.

The jury’s still out on whether this ‘edgy’ record is my cup of tea or not. I find myself indifferent to most tracks on Rated R.

George Michael‘s hits collection Twenty Five jumped from #24 to #9 this week. Last week’s tour must’ve jogged our memories because kinky sex aside, George did have some wonderful songs.

Nothing beats ‘Fastlove’ for me – it was the first George Michael song I heard and back then innocent Dave was oblivious to the overt sexual connotations.

Ellie Goulding must be chuffed to see her debut album enter the UK charts at #1 this week. Interesting to see Lights knock off Lady Gaga‘s beast of a hit album at the height of her Monster Ball tour.

Alphabeat‘s 90s pop-inspired The Beat Is debuted at #39 in the UK this week. Wondering if I should hold my breath for a local release or shall I just order my copy from CD WOW now?

Avril Lavigne‘s ‘Alice’ entered the UK charts at #75 this week. Only time will tell if this will reignite her career or fall through the rabbit hole.

Lady Gaga and Beyonce‘s ‘Telephone’ climbs to an all new peak of #12 on the US Billboards chart. It has been the longest wait for the music video, this shit had better be bonkers and mind-blowing. Word is the official premiere date is 11 March.

Feed Limmy’s Top 20 Most Played:

#1 Gabriella Cilmi – On A Mission*
#2 Cheryl Cole – Parachute
#3 Kelis – Acapella
#4 Kimberly Wyatt – Candy (feat. Aggro Santos)*
#5 Cheryl Cole – Boys
#6 Shakira – Gypsy (Freemasons Mix)*
#7 Sugababes – Wear My Kiss
#8 Robyn – No Hassle*
#9 Jennifer Lopez – Louboutins
#10 Brandy – Right Here (Departed)
#11 Junior Caldera feat. Sophie Ellis- Bextor – Can’t Fight The Feeling (Junior Caldera Radio Edit)*
#12 BoA – Touched
#13 Paloma Faith – Upside Down*
#14 Anjulie – Rain
#15 Cheryl Cole – Fight For This Love
#16 Leona Lewis – Naked
#17 Estelle – Freak*
#18 Sugababes – Get Sexy
#19 Cheryl Cole – 3 Words
#20 Cheryl Cole – Rain On Me
* = Added to playlist this week

5 Comments

  1. I actually really like ‘Rude Boy’… however, i am also really surprised it has got to No. 1 – i’m not complaining.

    Rumour has it she is already set to release another album by the end of the year, so perhaps it was planned that ‘Rated R’ wouldnt have that many radio friendly tracks…

  2. Another album by the end of this year? Maybe that’s the record company pulling in the reins… enough with this arty shit RiRI! They’re probably dying for her to put out a poppier album!

  3. i didnt mind the album, i thought it was def a different sound, you could hear her accent alot more plus she tried to work in grime and dance hall but
    you can hear what she was aiming for but it just didnt get there.
    I didnt know about a new album but I heard that there was going to be a remixed Rated R with a few new songs with one written by Ke$ha

  4. I’ve always considered myself a casual RiRi fan. Like, I won’t deny the fact that she’s got some killer pop songs but bar “Good Girl Gone Bad”, I don’t really see her as an ‘album’ artist.

    ‘Photographs’ on the “Rated R” album is nice… and ‘Hard’ is just one of those songs that you wanna grab your crotch to.

    Just calls for such a gesture.

  5. I know what you mean I’ve never been a fan and Rated R is the only RiRi album I’ve brought, with GGGB I liked the songs that didn’t get released like Breaking Dishes and Push Up On Me.

    With Photographs it is a good song but I kind of think that its not as good as Will.I.Am and Miss Cole’s ‘3 Words’, and as for Hard that’s the song where you can hear all the new elements she tried out (why they pushed out Rude Boy so soon after it I’ll never know) and that’s where the album peaks after that it doesn’t bring it as…well hard.

Leave a Reply

