Feed Limmy’s Top 30 Songs of 2010: #30 – #21

This is bigger than Oprah doing Barbara Walters.

The Feed Limmy Songs and Albums of The Year post is bigger than ever in 2010 with the list expanding to rank our most defining records of the year from #30 to #1. Expect it to roll out in blocks of ten each week leading up to the end of the year.

I’m pretty excited about this. I mean, it’s evidently no critics choice award but it’s just a chance for me to hat tip the artists, albums and songs that have soundtracked and made a real impression on my year.

Here comes the first lot:

#30 – ‘A Happy Place’ by Katie Melua

Melua doing buoyant William Orbit-pop makes sense.
Line: “I have found that stress and nonsense puts me in zone of avoidance…”

#29 – ‘The Sellout’ by Macy Gray

That guitar riff and bittersweet lyrics gets to me every time.
Line: “This is my gimmick and I wanna win it. I’m selling out, I won’t fight you no more.”

#28 – ‘Wonderful Life’ by Hurts

Salvatory lyrics over icy crisp beats: can it feel both cold and life-affirming at the same time?
Line: “She said, don’t let go. Never give up, it’s such a wonderful life.”

#27 – ‘Monster’ by Kanye West, Jay Z, Nicki Minaj and Rick Ross

KanKan gathers hip hop high rollers for a savage collaboration.
Line: “You can be the king but watch the queen conquer… I’m all up in the bank with the funny face and if I’m fake I ain’t notice ’cause my money ain’t!”



#26 – ‘Woohoo’ by Christina Aguilera feat. Nicki Minaj

A filthy delicious ode to cunnilingus.
Line: “All the boys think it’s cake when they taste my… you don’t need a plate, just your face ah!”

#25 – ‘Call Your Girlfriend’ by Robyn

It’s time you had the talk. Honest lyrics delivered over strobelit electro beats – this is prime Robyn balladry.
Line: “You just tell her that the only way her heart will mend is when she learns to love again.”

#24 – ‘Loca’ by Shakira feat. Dizzee Rascal

An infectious summer jam. Consider it as Sangria for the ears.
Line: “I know I’m crazy but you like it, ’cause girls like me there aren’t enough of in the market.”

#23 – ‘All For You’ by Ace of Base

The glorious pop melodies they were famed for, appropriately updated for 2010.
Line: “All for you. I would do the same tomorrow, all for you.”

#22 – ‘You’re The Kinda Man’ by Girls Can’t Catch


An unreleased demo channeling the early-00s style romping pop/R&B of, say, Beverley Knight/Robyn‘s ‘Keep This Fire Burning’.
Line: “You’re the kinda man, a man would wanna roll with. You’re the kinda man, a girl wanna go home with.”

#21 – ‘Be Good To Me’ by Sia

A full-bodied Sia soul ballad complete with melismatic warbles.
Line: “Be good to me, be good to me. I need you now more than ever.”

Footnote:

Keep your ear to the ground and hand on your heart for the #20 – #11 of Feed Limmy’s Songs and Albums of 2010 next week.

6 Comments

  1. Hm. I’m guessing the inclusion of Anggun’s “Innocent Lies” will be too much to ask for… no? :D

    • Oh Adrian, I haven’t heard ‘Innocent Lies’! I’ll have to YouTube it later :)
      Thanks for the Anggun heads up, though!

      • Hey, you’re welcome! Do so, it’s a fantastic song! It is without a video, though. Mind you, that was released as an AA-Side along with “Always You” – and there are two videos to that song – although I’m pretty sure that one’s not really your cup of tea… :)

  2. I’m curious about whether Sia or Robyn will make another appearance higher up the list. Also I can’t wait to see whether your number 1 has changed in the last couple of months.

Leave a Reply

