Jessie J wins BBC Sound of 2011

Ferosh British pop singer/songwriter Jessie J has been crowned winner of the BBC Sound of 2011.

The annual prestigious award – as voted by over 160 music industry critics and media folk – is given to a breakthrough artist predicted to become defining the new year.

Check on other acts that made the BBC Sound of 2011 shortlist.

The fahrenheit is already rising for Jessie J‘s stardom. The lass – whose biggest songwriting coup to date is a co-write on Miley‘s ‘Party In The USA’ – recently picked up a critic’s choice Brit Award.

Jessie J‘s debut single ‘Do It Like A Dude’ crept into the UK Top 20 this week. The 22-year old recently told Rap Up that she had written the track with Rihanna in mind after hearing ‘Rude Boy’. She said:

“At first I never really saw myself doing something like it, but I knew I could. I sent it to my label and I was like, ‘I’m just sending you this before I send it to Rihanna‘s camp to see if you guys like it.’ And they were like, ‘This is your first single. It’s amazing.'”

Footnotes:

Jessie J‘s set to premiere her next single ‘Price Tag’ soon.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

