Leak Report: Kelly Rowland ‘Just Whisper’

I won’t lie. My faith has been tested a lot in the past year waiting for Kelly Rowland‘s much-delayed third solo album but it’s leaks like these that remind why it’s all worth it.

The latest track to surface – ‘Just Whisper’ – is a firm handshake of reassurance that a supreme vocalist like Kelly should never have to settle for second best, hitching a ride on any moderately lucrative rap/sung collabo.

Not sure whether this will make the album cut or not at this stage but if it doesn’t, they shouldn’t let it go to waste.

‘Just Whisper’ would be perfect for a rom-com soundtrack. You know just the kind I mean. Think: Katherine Heigl epic emotional moment where she’s frantically running through LAX in search of her beau before he flies out of her life for ever etc. Take a listen and tell me you can’t picture it:

Feed Limmy verdict: Bounce snap.

Mighty snap = this is a hit.
Bounce snap = instantly likeable.
Lightbulb snap = you will need a moment to get into this.
Nonchalant snap = need I say more?
No snap = please cease and decease.

Footnote:

Over the weekend, Kelly Rowland felt the need to blog and update us on why her album’s still not fucking ready yet. Take a read to settle your beating heart a little:

“Hey everyone,

I just wanna first start off by telling you all thank you SO much for being incredibly patient in waiting for the album. The making of this album has been an emotional roller coaster but empowering for me, which you will hear once it’s all done. I’m just taking my time to make sure it’s everything I want it to be. Just an FYI, it is shaping up beautifully! All the producers and writers are passionate masterminds, and I thank them for their creativity! Also, this album is NOT limited, I am not allowing ANYONE to put me in a box, with sound. That’s not where I belong. The album IS consistent sonically and I am writing, creating, having fun, and healing………it’s been a BLAST!!! I wanted to bring you guys up to speed with the album! I love you all dearly! And as soon as I have hard dates on release, trust me you know I got you! KR, xoxo”

Ms Kelly‘s current pre-occupation is promoting her new duet with Nelly: ‘Gone’. The pair just finished shooting the video in Mexico today.

2 Comments

  1. I’m liking this Limmy! And I’m pretty certain (if the song got a release) it would be a night-time staple on radio stations in my country. ;)

    Now just bring out the album, Kel…

    • It’s lovely and if anything, it reminds me of the ballads on her “Simply Deep” album except, she’s grown so much vocally since then. :)

Leave a Reply

