Sophie Ellis-Bextor “Make A Scene” Album Details and Tracklisting

Sophie stans, this is nothing ya’ll don’t already know.

The defining diva has finally confirmed a release for her heavily anticipated fourth studio album Make A Scene after numerous set backs in the last year.

The album will be released in Russia first. Why Russia? I believe she’s done a few gigs there in the last few months and maybe that region is to Sophie what Australia is to Wynter Gordon.

Make A Scene was well completed and ready to be pressed by the end of 2010 but after its first single – ‘Bittersweet’ – flopped hard, everyone kinda retracted a little and attempts were made to pitch Sophie to the dance music world as a feature creature to heavyweights like Armin Van Buuren (‘Not Giving Up On Love’) and Junior Caldera (‘Can’t Fight This Feeling’).

It’s easy to see that the “feature” credit has granted Sophie access to having proper club hits around Europe. The life changing ‘Heartbreak Make Me A Dancer’ with Freemasons made #2 on the UK dance charts, Junior Caldera‘s ‘Can’t Fight This Feeling’ went #3 on the French club chart and Armin‘s ‘Not Giving Up On Love’ made #3 on the US Billboard dance airplay charts.

The album naturally houses all the aforementioned dance hits but it’s not to be mistaken for a poppers o’clock four to the floor style club LP. Other producers behind Make A Scene include electro pop meister Richard X, Calvin Harris, Greg Kurstin (Kylie, Lily Allen), Metronomy and Liam Howe (Marina & The Diamonds).

Check on the official final tracklisting as per Universal Music Russia’s website:

1 – Revolution
2 – Bittersweet
3 – Off & On
4 – Heartbreak
5 – Not Giving Up On Love
6 – Can’t Fight This Feeling
7 – Starlight
8 – Under Your Touch
9 – Make A Scene
10 – Magic
11 – Dial My Number
12 – Homewrecker
13 – Synchronised
14 – Cut Straight To The Heart

‘Bittersweet’ was never released in Australia despite ‘Heartbreak Make Me A Dancer’ making #9 on our dance single charts. Boutique labels have serviced the other singles ‘Not Giving Up On Love’ and ‘Can’t Fight This Feeling’ (which was digitally released here two weeks ago) but it’s yet to make an impact on our Aussie club or airplay charts.


Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s Make A Scene drops in Russia on 18 April and will be released in the UK on 6 June. Hat tip to our friend AuspOp and Mark Goring for the heads up.

Hold tight for an Australian release, stans. I’m holding off on the import because I wanna make sure my cash money is registered in Sophie‘s till Down Under. She needs to know that she’s still got fans are out here.



  1. Haha, it’s REALLY long overdue, isn’t it. Glad that this is finally happening, though with such a cover I would rather it was called ‘Straight to the Heart’… Would of been more fitting, no?

    • I am not completely infatuated with the cover art, actually. I get that it’s gothic chic and perhaps even a throwback to the “Read My Lips” era with the black and white theme… but that doesn’t scream dance album to me. It looks like an album of Lykke Li type music.

      Having said that, SEB turns it out every single time so I’ll just deal with it! I have to say “Straight To The Heart” definitely could’ve worked in the context of SEB’s discography too – considering other body parts she’s named in the past eg. “lips”, “hips”. But “Make A Scene” is so immediate and attention grabbing!

    • Thanks Stephen, at the time of posting I only had Sophie’s tweet to go by but there’s been another post since. I’ve also updated this one to show the UK date. Cheers! :)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s