Darren Hayes signs to Mercury Records Australia

This could only mean that an album’s just around the corner.

Defining Aussie pop artist Darren Hayes has inked a deal with Mercury Records Australia/ Universal Music Australia to launch his fourth solo album.

Fans have been following the progress of this yet-untitled project for a good part of last year via Darren‘s vlogs and online updates. Last time we checked the thing was already done and they’ve even picked out the singles. The album features an array of collaborations with top producers such as Steve Robson (Leona Lewis), Carl Falk (Nicole Scherzinger‘s ‘Don’t Hold Your Breath’), Walter Afanasieff (the legend behind several of Mariah Carey‘s Butterfly hits), Brian West (Nelly Furtado) and Phil Thornally (Pixie Lott).

Dazza‘s last album This Delicate Thing We’ve Made was released on his own label Powdered Sugar but even though I’m all for independent pop stars, everyone knows that – if done right – the aligning with a major record company means wider coverage and more promotional support.

Here’s a spiel from Darren about the signing to Mercury/Universal Music Australia:

“I feel incredibly excited to be launching a new era of my career with the biggest record company in the world. In the past having my own independent label was a personal milestone. The decision to join forces with Universal today has allowed me to maintain all of the creative freedom I have enjoyed but now with the support and enthusiasm of a major label who want my new album to reach the widest possible audience. As an artist, this is a dream scenario. Universal respect my past but believe strongly in my future. Their enthusiasm for my vision coupled with their reputation as market leaders makes me proud to call Universal my new home.”

Footnotes:

Stay tuned for updates on Darren Hayes‘ new single, fourth solo album and tour. It shan’t be long now, my friends!

Leave a Reply

