Leak Report: Beyonce ‘Girls (Who Run The World)’

What I say here is irrelevant.

By now, you would’ve all heard Queen B‘s fever-inducing demo of ‘Girls (Who Run The World)’ and one of two things would’ve happened: you either walked away with a stank face because that burnt like boiling diaper gumbo in your ears or there’s now a wet patch where you were seated and you’re losing your shit, shouting out the queen’s return to everyone in ear shot.

I had no time for any of the above dramatics when I first heard the track this morning because as fate would have it, the song had to leak 15 minutes before I was scheduled to start my shift.

I wasn’t ready for it. Bitch, this is inconsiderate. I had to listen to what I could out of them crappy PC speakers in my work break room, trying to take it all in while I was stirring my cheap coffee blend.

Beyonce stans fucking broke the interwebs with all this banter, opinions and retweeting – and all I could do was stir – unable to decide whether I like what I hear or not.

There’s been tiresome amounts of speculation on the pop music blogosphere ever since Beyonce started filming the new video last week – shots of Empress B absolutely ruling in the desert with a legion of fierce females prompted talk that the song’s probably gonna be another anthem for ladies.

Well shock horror, look who came back for her sisters. Take a listen – if you haven’t already – and check pon de choice lyrics:

“Make yo’ check, come at their neck. Disrespect us, no they won’t! Boy you know you love it. How we’re smart enough to make these millions, strong enough to bear the children… then get back to bidness!”

‘Girls (Who Run The World)’ pounds the same ground that ‘Single Ladies’ famously moped careers on. It’s a fistful of empowerment delivered with signature Sasha Fierce aggression laid over highly kinetic, rump pumping beats.

And speaking of the beat, are you singing praise for that sample of Major Lazer‘s 2009 smash ‘Pon De Floor’? Mmph. I’ll reserve judgement until I hear the final mix.

Feed Limmy verdict: Mighty snap.

Mighty snap = this is a hit.
Bounce snap = instantly likeable.
Lightbulb snap = you will need a moment to get into this.
Nonchalant snap = need I say more?
No snap = please cease and decease.

Footnotes:

Beyonce‘s ‘Girls (Who Run The World)’ – reportedly produced by Diplo – should be released soon.

Stay tuned for the video, single cover art, new promo pics and more tea about B‘s forthcoming fourth solo album.

1 Comment

  1. Everybody go to Youtube. Theres a remix of this single produced by this guy name Fyuchur. Its Hot!! Even her fans love it

Leave a Reply

