Leak Report: Beyonce ‘Best Thing I Never Had’

You’ve never heard Beyonce like this on the radios before, that’s for sure.

The untouchable Queen B was serious when she said she’s letting the soul out on this forthcoming album. We’ve all heard her belt and deliver raw vocal performances in her shows but rarely do we ever hear Beyonce sound like that in her actual studio recordings. That’s all about to change with the arrival of new tracks like ‘1+1’ and the official new single: ‘Best Thing I Never Had’.

Take a listen to the soulful track in full here:

 

“Boo hoo! If you expect me to care. You don’t deserve my tears. I guess that’s why they ain’t there. There was a time that I almost loved you, you showed your ass and baby, yes I saw the real you! Thank God you blew it. Thank God, I dodged a bullet.” BAM.

It may not be the catchiest or most instantly accessible single in the history of B’s platinum discography but I feel like at this point in her career, Beyonce need not buck to trends and score radio hits no more. She is already established and it finally feels like B is ready to make timeless music that expresses her artistry and flexes her soulful strengths. Stellar vocal performances like what we just heard will always be appreciated by her fans so it don’t matter if tracks like ‘Best Thing I Never Had’ or ‘1+1’ don’t become sell-out smashes that inspire queens world over to create tribute videos.

This is the raw, real deal.

Footnotes:

Beyonce‘s ‘Best Thing I Never Had’ – penned by Babyface – is set to hit US radios on Wednesday. Aussies, stay tuned for an official word but I expect for things to follow suit pretty soon.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

