Che’nelle is back with “Luv Songs”

If you’re still getting your Top Model strut on with ‘Teach Me How To Dance’, gurl, you need to hit refresh on Che’nelle‘s discography.

My Malaysian-born Aussie sista from another mista might’ve seemingly disappeared from the scene after ‘I Fell In Love With A DJ’ but she’s actually signed a deal with EMI Japan and the current focus is putting out music over there.

Luv Songs is her second Japan-only album (third overall) and from what I gather with some dodgy Google translation, this might be an English album covering mostly classic Japanese love songs. Take a listen to a snippet of Che’nelle‘s latest offering, ‘Baby I Love You’:

Here’s a preview of the last single ‘Sakura’, which by the way, sounds absolutely flawless:

If it truly is her English rewriting of classic J-pop ballads then I think this album is gonna be right on the money. I can see it not only connecting with Japanese listeners but also with Che’nelle‘s English-speaking fans who might be hearing these melodies for the very first time. The record also features a cover of Ne-Yo‘s ‘So Sick’ [Editor’s note: where Google translation failed us, Che’Nelle confirmed the title to me via Twitter] and a take on Minnie Riperton‘s classic ‘Lovin’ You’.

Check on the final tracklisting here:

1 – Baby I Love U
2 – Sunshine Girl
3 – For You
4 – So Sick
5 – Sakura
6 – Everything
7 – Garasugoshi ni Kieta Natsu
8 – Missing You (English Version)
9 – Saving All My Love For You
10 – Lovin’ You
11 – Without You
12 – Sukiyaki (Japanese Version)
13 – Missing (Japanese Version)

The promo shots for this era are stunning and I don’t think I’ve ever seen Che’nelle look more breathtaking. The colours are softer and the look is definitely more classic to complement the album’s romantic theme. She looking more and more like a true J-pop princess now.

It’s a shame that Che’nelle isn’t releasing material on a global scale because she is immensely talented and I hate learning about her Japanese releases months after they drop. Seriously, it took me nine months to hear that she had released Feel Good, the album.

Stateside, Che’nelle has been writing with ex-Pussycat Doll Carmit Bachar and she’s also working on some material for Cassie. Y’all might also know that Ms Lim co-wrote the ethereal ‘Can’t Breathe’, which Leona Lewis recorded for her Echo album.


Che’nelle‘s Luv Songs is out in Japan on 20 July. ‘Baby I Love You’ will be released digitally on 22 June.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s