Leak Report: Kelly Rowland ‘Lay It On Me’

While Beyonce reaches into the depths of her soul to warble on the ups and downs of love, Ms Kelly is out bumping another hot piece. I say, get it gurl.

The former DC glamazon is truly on top her game right now and it’s long overdue. With ‘Motivation’ returning Kelly back to relevance with the American urban market, she’s found the confidence to not only bring forward the release of her long-awaited album, but also swiftly serve a second single.

‘Motivation’ is currently reigning on top of the US R&B/Hip Hop charts for its third consecutive week and Kelly is steady readying its follow up: ‘Lay It On Me’.

The track is produced by Hit-boy, the man behind records for 50 Cent and Eminem, and also a recent signing to Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music production team. ‘Lay It On Me’ formulaically features a rent-a-rapper on board and this time, it’s an upcoming hip hop artist by the name of Big Sean. All those who are in the know in the urban music blogosphere already know about him.

I’m happy that Kelly is finally releasing records that come correct for her urban fanbase but this song does nothing for me. ‘Lay It On Me’ sounds like an uninspiring hybrid of Nicole Scherzinger‘s ‘Right There’ and something Keri Hilson passed up on. It’s sexy and definitely more radio friendlier than ‘Motivation’ but it just feels hollow, repetitive and uninspiring.

Take a listen to ‘Lay It On Me’:

 

“I wanna just kiss you now. I wanna touch you now. I wanna just give you all my love tonight!” Alright, gurl. I hear you.

Feed Limmy verdict: Lightbulb snap.

Mighty snap = this is a hit.
Bounce snap = instantly likeable.
Lightbulb snap = you will need a moment to get into this.
Nonchalant snap = need I say more?
No snap = please cease and decease.

Footnotes:

Kelly Rowland‘s ‘Lay It On Me’ will precede the release of her Here I Am album, which hits US stores on 26 July. Yes, child. Almost a month after Queen Mother Beyonce’s 4 arrives.

7 Comments

  1. I agree with the “uninspiring” part, but it’s still quite enjoyable anyway. Not quite sure how I feel about it, but I’m hoping hard it will be another smash for her.

    • I feel like I’ve wanted Kelly to succeed for so long now that when a boring song like this comes along, I just let it slide as long as the wider US urban public likes it.

  2. Haha, I agree! Know what, part of me wishes she would go for a proper corker instead, but another part thinks that this actually stands a great chance of being that summer hit it’s obviously intended to be. We should just wait and see, then…

    On another note, it’s still a bit sad actually that ‘Rose Colored Glasses’ never had a chance to bloom. :(
    ‘Grown Woman’ was great too!

Leave a Reply

