Quick Feed: Brandy shoots ‘Put It Down’ video, Aubrey O’Day covers Gotye, and Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs

You know that internal dialogue you have with yourself when you have to queue up for ages to pay for something? You start asking yourself do you actually even need this item in your life right now. Is this shit really worth lining up for? Who gon’ take care of my fish if I die of old age waiting in this queue?

That is precisely how I feel about Brandy‘s eternally forthcoming video ‘Put It Down’ (featuring Chris Brown).

BRANDY PUT IT DOWN VIDEO

That damn single has been out for two months already and still no video, barely any promo.

The divisive urban single – produced by Bangladesh – found its way into our Aussie iTunes Top 100 at one stage but with virtually no local radio support, I doubt anyone in this vast and great land is aware of Brandy‘s comeback.

Today we’re treated to two teaser snaps of the video shoot, which is directed by Hype Williams (the man behind Jessica Mauboy‘s glorious ‘Get ‘Em Girls’ and several gross Ke$ha music videos). The choreography is taken care of by Frank Gatson Jr., who is famous for working with Beyoncé.

We’ll have to wait another two weeks before seeing how this all pans out. Don’t go anywhere. *wry smile*

AUBREY O'DAY COVERS GOTYE

Danity Kane‘s high priestess of glam and seduction, Aubrey O’Day, has customised Gotye‘s titan global hit ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’ into her own personal bitter break up opus.

The frosty new electro-R&B backdrop bears only the barest resemblance to the Aussie artist’s original version.



“But you didn’t have to cut me off! Tell your wife it never happened and that we were nothing… no you didn’t have to stoop so low, tell me you were leaving and that she could never make you happy.”

Hell hath no fury like a mistress scorned.

“Now you’re just an ass hole that I used to know. You’re just a fucking liar that I used to know…”

TOTALLY ENORMOUS EXTINCT DINOSAURS

Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs has announced his debut (and unfortunately one-off) Australian show in Sydney on 24 October at the Oxford Art Factory.

My NME and Pitchfork-wielding workmate turned me onto TEED a few months ago and he has been one of my favourite quirky discoveries this year. The album Trouble – which went #1 on our Aussie electronic album charts – has been a bit of a critics thriller, particularly for standout tracks like ‘Tapes & Money’ and ‘Garden’. Google Image him – you will love his visual presentation.

Tickets for the one-off show goes on sale Monday 6 August, 9am via Moshtix. Those stomping along to Falls and Southbound festivals will catch more of TEED then.

JOHN ROWLEY GUILT TRIP

One of my favourite new purveyor of ice cool electro pop – John Rowley – has dropped a new track ‘Guilt Trip’. The mellow gem has already earned nods as Popjustice‘s Big Song, so why are you even listening to me?

“I’ll send you to space with the look on my face, I’ll put you on a guilt trip… you’ll stay close enough so that when I give up, I’ll turn and say ‘I’m sorry’.”

Such stark lyrical brilliance, sealed with a sincerely frosty delivery that you just can’t shake off – this has to be the Sydney teen’s best work to date.

Listen to John Rowley’s ‘Guilt Trip’:



Download ‘Guilt Trip’ from John’s Bandcamp page for free or for a fee of your choice. Don’t be tight, hos – treat this like an investment.

Leave a Reply

