Quick Feed: David Guetta, Bertie Blackman, Van She and Dawn Richard

I’mma Guetta pop crossover.


Alcopop guzzling lesbians across the globe are probably spazzing out at the thought of Tegan and Sara appearing on David Guetta‘s album.

Needless to say, ever since ‘Titanium’ (with Sia) became a global smash, Guetta’s now fond to experiment more with indie artists and only time will tell whether the Canadian rockers’ track will become a single of similar magnitude.

The twins feature on ‘Every Chance We Get We Run’, which is one of eight new tracks included on the beefed up re-release of Guetta‘s hit album Nothing But The Beat.

Nothing But The Beat 2.0 – set to drop in Australia on 7 September – will also feature fresh collabos with Akon, Ne-Yo, Aussie twins NERVO, Taped Rai and a new take on Flo Rida and Sia‘s smash ‘Wild One’.

Check out the tracklisting for Nothing But The Beat 2.0:

1. Titanium (feat. Sia)
2. Turn Me On (feat. Nicki Minaj)
3. She Wolf (Falling to Pieces) [feat. Sia]
4. Without You (feat. Usher)
5. I Can Only Imagine (feat. Chris Brown & Lil Wayne)
6. Play Hard (feat. Ne-Yo & Akon)
7. Wild One 2 (feat. David Guetta, Nicky Romero, Sia) (Edit)
8. Just One Last Time (feat. Taped Rai)
9. In My Head (feat. NERVO)
10. Where Them Girls At (feat. Nicki Minaj & Flo Rida)
11. Little Bad Girl (feat. Taio Cruz & Ludacris)
12. Sweat (David Guetta Remix)
13. Crank It Up (feat. Akon)
14. I Just Wanna F (feat. Timbaland & Dev)
15. Nothing Really Matters (feat. will.i.am)
16. Repeat (feat. Jessie J)
17. Night Of Your Life (feat. Jennifer Hudson)
18. Every Chance We Get We Run (feat. Tegan & Sara)
19. Sunshine (Edit)
20. Lunar (Edit)
21. What The Fuck
22. Metropolis (Edit)
23. The Alphabeat (Edit)

Bertie boy.


Quirky indie pop songbird Bertie Blackman has dropped an animated music video for her new single ‘Boy’.

Check out the clip below, which was directed and animated by Quan Yeomans (yes, the former Regurgitator frontman) and illustrated by Melbourne-based artist Celeste Potter, who was the illustrator behind Sarah Blasko‘s As Day Follows Night album artwork.

This latest offering is birthed from Blackman’s forthcoming Pope Innocent X album, due on 12 October.

Now I was very fond of Bertie’s sinister last album Secrets and Lies so I suspect I’ll really enjoy the creative outbursts and story-telling of P.I.X. with as well, especially knowing that she has once again teamed up with producer Francois Tetaz (who has also worked on notable records for Gotye, Kimbra and Architecture in Helsinki).

Ms Blackman is due to tour with The Rubens next month and Gotye in December. Check her web for more deets.

Ooooh. Jamaica.


Van She has uploaded the video for their utterly splendid new single ‘Jamaica’ and it’s an absolute win, y’guys.

The Aussie band actually went to Jamaica to shoot the gorgeous travel-doco style video with prolific filmmaker and photographer Mike Piscitelli, whose portfolio boasts music clips for Iggy Pop and Linkin Park, as well as snapped editorials for Dazed & Confused, Oyster and iD magazine.

Stuff this into your eyeballs right away:

Y’all can also grab a free download of ‘Jamaica (Unicorn Kid Remix)’.

New Dawn.


Ex-Danity Kane diva Dawn Richard has hemmed a visually arresting clip for her tracks ‘Faith’ and ‘Wild N Young’, now conveniently melded as ‘Wild N’ Faith’.

Both tracks were lifted from Richard’s critically lauded EP Armor On, which I can’t say I really connected with, unfortunately.

Video director ELY, who has worked with Marina and the Diamonds, takes Dawn’s tribal warrior queen vision to a new level of dance and editorial realness here. Take a look at the video:

Dawn‘s debut full length album GoldenHeart is due in October.

Raja vs Manila Luzon.

raja manila luzon

The wigs are about to come flying off again as RuPaul’s Drag Race glamazons Raja and Manila Luzon go head to head with their respective second singles.

Both queens went for completely contrasting flavours of dance with their first singles: Raja cut loose with a bit of glam-goth in ‘Diamond Crowned Queen’ while Manila actually slayed with a super camp and polished smash in ‘Hot Couture’.

‘Hot Couture’ was hands down, the best single ever released by a Drag Race queen. It sounded fucking professional, like Chad Michaels professional, huntee. However, I’m not so sold on both queens’ follow up singles.

Listen to Raja‘s ‘Sublime’, which was produced by New York electropop sensation SIRPAUL:

Here’s Manila Luzon‘s ‘Best XXXcessory’, produced and co-written by the Deborah Harry‘s keyboardist. The track was passed up by the Blondie goddess herself before Manila embellished it with more fabulosity.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s