Feed Limmy Top Songs of 2013: Tove Lo ‘Habits’

“Spend my days locked in a haze, trying to forget you babe.”

Tove Lo Habits

You know me, I go weak for a good tear-streaked electro pop ballad but there is something about ‘Habits’ and the way it draws you into its numbing cloud of tragedy. Why am I addicted to a song that makes me feel so sad?

Swedish pop artist Tove Lo’s despondent lyrics about cycling through different activities to feel something other than soul-destroying loneliness struck a nerve.

The random hook-ups, the sex club visits, getting high, the excessive alcohol consumption – I love how the account plays like a fast-flicking and blurring montage, tinged with pain and denial.

“Staying in my play pretend where the fun ain’t got no end. Can’t go home alone again, need someone to numb the pain.” We can all more or less relate, yeah?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

