Chart Feed – 26.03.12

It’s just past midnight and I’ve been compiling this post for the past four hours non-stop. It’s somewhat understandable that I want to just drop dead now to the sound of Madonna‘s ‘Gang Bang’ on repeat and never wake up again.

This week’s Chart Feed is one for the history books – especially if you’re the world’s biggest boyband of the moment: One Direction. Their legendary storming of the US Billboard charts makes them the first ever British band to have their first album go #1 in the States.

Elsewhere, Katy Perry blasts to #1 on the UK charts and we also look ahead to new releases by The Saturdays, Scissor Sisters and Calvin Harris.

Continue reading


Bic Runga “Belle” Album Tracklisting and Details

New Zealand’s finest music export Bic Runga is finally back with her first studio album in over five years.

No one does wistful strummy la la with such effortless grace like Ms Bic and if you guys haven’t already experienced her defining Beautiful Collision and Birds albums – do yourselves a favour right away.

Belle sees the Kiwi singer/songwriter throwing herself back into her art after taking four years off to focus on motherhood. This time away helped inspire a creative rebirth and get back that hunger for making music and touring again.

“Motherhood is very nice. But there comes a point where it would be really easy to lose your identity, and if you didn’t return to your art you’d just become a pain to everyone around you,” she said. And what a shame it would be if she hadn’t picked it back up again.

Watch Bic Runga‘s gorgeous ‘Hello Hello’ music video:


Belle is Bic Runga‘s fourth studio album and on board, we’ve got collaborations with Dan Hume of Evermore – who co-wrote the project’s lead single ‘Hello Hello’. The Kiwi artiste also enlisted Kody Nielson from New Zealand rock band The Mint Chicks to produce the entire album. The pair had previously worked together on a side project titled Kody & Bic, an album of originals that came out last year. In fact one of the tracks from the project – ‘Darkness All Around Us’ – will be re-released on BelleBic also roped in indie pop artist Lawrence Arabia to work on the epic track ‘This Girl’s Prepared for War’, which was first released on the My Wedding & Other Secrets soundtrack.

Check out the tracklisting for Belle:

1 – Tiny Little Piece of My Heart
2 – Hello Hello
3 – If You Really Do
4 – This Girl’s Prepared For War
5 – Everything Is Beautiful and New
6 – Good Love
7 – Devil On Tambourine
8 – Belle
9 – Darkness All Around Us
10 – Music and Light

Ever since ‘Drive’ broke out 15 years ago, Bic has enjoyed tremendous commercial and critical success. All three of her albums have reached #1 on the New Zealand charts – 1997’s Drive certified seven times platinum, 2002’s Beautiful Collision went 11 times platinum, and 2005’s Birds gone three times platinum.

The Kiwi music sensation has also toured with the likes of Neil and Tim Finn, seen her records released worldwide, and was even been honoured by The Queen as a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Zealand New Year’s Honour List.

I absolutely can’t wait to hear Belle. It’s good to have mama back.


Bic Runga will release Belle on 14 November in New Zealand. Stay tuned for an Australian release date.