Ariana Grande “My Everything”

Pop Bambi, Ariana Grande, has officially made the leap from Nickelodeon star to proper contender in the youth music market, all in just the space of 17 months.

ariana grande my everything

My Everything, her second album, is easily one of the most anticipated releases in any teen pop diary this year. Bolstered by the global success of ‘Problem‘ (featuring Iggy Azalea), her first UK chart-topper, My Everything has been hyped up to be the album that will introduce Ariana to a bigger audience.

The 21-year old singer has been tirelessly hailed as the new generation’s Mariah Carey (probably much to the chagrin of the Elusive Chanteuse herself). It’s something of a badge of honour Ariana wears and flashes with pride every time she ad-libs in the whistle register. The comparisons also stick because of Grande’s penchant for cutting slickly-produced saccharine R&B ballads which has, until now, limited her appeal to mainstream music fans on this side of the Atlantic.

She’s a young female pop performer with a naturally-occurring gay male following but unlike Lady Gaga, Katy Perry or Britney Spears, Little Miss Grande has yet to give us a proper anthem we can really get behind. You know just the kind we’re talking about: a huge dance track with emotional lyrics and bonafide diva vocals. Well, that all changed when ‘Break Free’ went online.

The new single, featuring German-Russian EDM producer Zedd, is a brazen, club stomper with an emancipatory feel. It’s a straightforward survivor anthem for the brokenhearted and fed-up, much in the spirit of Britney Spears‘ ‘Stronger’, Cher‘s ‘Strong Enough’ and Gloria Gaynor‘s ‘I Will Survive’. Ariana digs her heels in and sings, “This is the part when I say I don’t want it! I’m stronger than I’ve been before. This is the part when I break free, ’cause I can’t resist it no more!”.


As enjoyable as it was, ‘Break Free’ sadly isn’t a fair representation of the album’s soundscape. For the most part, Ariana remains quietly devoted to the vanilla R&B balladry set out in her first album. Having said that, there is a convincing coming-of-age confidence and feistiness in My Everything that urges its listeners to stick with it for a bit longer.

Continue reading


Lady Gaga “Born This Way – The Remix” Album Tracklisting and Details

Prepare yourself for an experimental and marvelously edgy reimagination of Born This Way as most of our favourite album tracks score a remix treatment in this here compilation.

Born This Way – The Remix is the monster pop superstar’s second remix collection and once again, Gaga projects herself ahead of the curve by enlisting underground and upcoming DJs/producers for the project.

2010’s The Remix – which canvassed hits from both The Fame and The Fame Monster – has become one of the best selling remix albums in the world, reportedly clocking over 500,000 sales to date. Part of the reason why it really worked, even at that early stage of her pop career, is because Gaga‘s not just a one-dimensional dance music artist. She and her songs have the ability to render themselves against everything from experimental electronica through to commercial fluorescent house with a fluidity not many performers can claim.

Basically, her remixes – just like every other aspect of her performance art – never appears like an afterthought or extended plug-in that’s largely removed from her overall vision. The choice of collaborators and producers enlisted have yet to disappoint and with Born This Way – The Remix, there’s gonna be a bit more boundary pushing.

The roll call flaunts collaborators from the indie rock sphere like Foster The People and Two Door Cinema Club, and there are the consistent merchants of quality electronica as well – eg. Royksopp, Goldfrapp and Hurts. This should be a well decent light and shade experience.

Check out the tracklisting for Born This Way – The Remix via Gaga Daily.

1 – Born This Way (Twin Shadows Remix)

2 – Judas (Hurts Remix)

3 – The Edge of Glory (Foster the People Remix)

4 – Yoü And I (Wild Beasts Remix)

5 – Marry the Night (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs Remix)

6 – Americano (Gregori Klosman Remix)

7 – Bloody Mary (The Horrors Remix)

8 – Scheiße (Guena LG Remix)

9 – Heavy Metal Lover (The Weeknd Remix)

10 – Electric Chapel (Two Door Cinema Club Remix)

11 – Black Jesus (Michael Woods Remix)

12 – Judas (Goldfrapp Remix)

13 – Yoü And I (Metronomy Remix)

14 – Judas (Royksopp’s European Imbecile Mix)

I don’t know about y’all but I am probably most excited to hear the ‘Heavy Metal Lover’, ‘Bloody Mary’ and ‘Americano’ remixes.


Lady Gaga will release both Born This Way – The Remix and The Monster Ball Tour DVD on 25 November in Australia.